Bubblegum Scented Toddler Shoes…

Mini Melissas

Mini Melissas

I am learning so much as a new parent; the terrible twos, potty training, that the term “whiz kid” really takes on a whole new meaning now that I have twin boys at changing time, that M&Ms are like crack to a toddler…

Among the list is the fact that there is a WHOLE NEW WORLD of apparel shopping available to me now that I have these little cuties to clothe! Who knew? Is it so terrible I am passing along my love for seriously awesome shoes to my two year old daughter?? I wonder at times if I’m perhaps starting a bad habit for her early on in life? I mean, when I was younger, we had school shoes, Church shoes and play shoes. I am pretty sure more than half of mine were hand-me-downs from my older (all male) cousins. But my mom always insisted on leather shoes for our feet. I am pretty positive my bro and I had Hush Puppies and Buster Browns, and probably anything else the anchor department stores at the mall at the time sold for toddlers.

Enter shoes for toddlers now days. WOW. There are a plethora of all the same gorgeous brands that this mama loves and admires (from afar). I have partaken in my fair share of Kenneth Cole, Nine West, Coach, Jessica Simpson, Steve Madden, MARC BY MARC JACOBS, Gwen Stefani’s L.A.M.B., BCBGeneration and BCBG MAXAZRIA, Guess, Alfani, Sofft, Badgley Mischka, Betsey Johnson, Salvatore Ferragamo, Enzo Angiolini, SJP by Sarah Jessica Parker, Dansko, just to name a few, while working downtown in my advertising days. I left the big, lofty, gorgeous, gotta’ have a pair of seriously beautiful designer shoes, for my admiring from afar. (And I am glad I did because all of the shoes mentioned above, I can no longer wear. I have been a 6.5 my adult life and after these bambinos arrived, I am a 7.5 – a full size larger!) And that’s okay too, because my taste has changed immensely. I admit to going to Nordstrom and VonMaur, and walking down the Magnificent Mile, drooling over the latest pair of Jimmy Choos, Kate Spades, Manolo Blahniks, Christian Louboutins, GUCCIs, Rebecca Minkoffs, PRADAs, Burberrys (you get the picture – THOSE shoes, THOSE designers, THOSE brands…)

Now that Mattelyn has arrived, I find so much joy and pleasure shoe shopping for my tiny little darling fashionista who wears a shoe size per 3-4 months and then is out of that shoe. GAH! What is wrong with me???? I feel as though I can *splurge* on her now because her cutie little shoes don’t cost what my big girl shoes cost. But one day they will and she will come to expect them, I am sure. So does that stop me from the occasional indulgence? YOU BET IT DOES. And each time I do indulge, I temper it with an outfit from Target. Okay, okay, I just sound insane now. But really, there could be much worse, right???? Plus, I don’t resell, I donate to the needy. Beautiful clothes for beautiful children that couldn’t otherwise afford the luxury. So that makes me feel better, (although my hubby wishes I would go ahead and resell…and buy resale…).

All of that said, my latest new find are the Melissa Brand shoes. They smell like bubblegum. Yes, bubblegum. They are a sustainable plastic shoe that is infused with a perfume that smells like bubblegum. Made of PVC recycled plastic, these “mini” versions of the adult Melissa line, are seriously “adorbs.” I must say, I am on the fence as to whether or not I want Mattelyn sporting a pair of bubblegum scented plastic shoes, (essentially, the “jelly” shoe of my era). But the sales associate assured me this is one of their biggest sellers for toddler sandals in the spring and summer season. WHO KNEW.

I tried on a pair of the adult Melissa’s and rather loved them. Soft, soft, soft, pliable plastic. It was comfortable and squishy.

I wouldn’t spend the day downtown walking a mile or going to an all day festival in them. But for a casual summer day or outing close to home, you bet I’d sport them. This plastic flip flop shoe or ballet slipper isn’t new to me – I have owned several versions over the years. My latest was a pair of BCBGeneration last summer that were clear plastic and had a gold bow – “perfectly princess” enough you might think, but very much adult if you wear it the right way; (read: You have to like that style, and I do). They were very comfortable and you would think my feet would have felt sweaty and uncomfortable but they didn’t. But all toddlers’ feeties are sweaty and can be stinky after a long day of outside play. I make sure Mattelyn always has the best shoes for learning how to walk and for assuring comfort and balance, like PediPeds, Stride Rite, See Kai Run, TOMS, Kenneth Cole. But she’s moving up to a regular toddler size now. These are enclosed in the toe area, have holes throughout like mesh so are breathable and are the cutest little Mary Jane’s you’ve ever seen. So what do you think? Yay or Nay? Do they belong in Mattelyn’s closet along with the leather Mary Jane’s made by WeeSqueak that I had to have that actually squeaked when she would take a step that no longer fit her???

The Wee Squeak Flower Garden Shoe

The Wee Squeak Flower Garden Shoe

Or these adorable Baby Bog snow boots I just HAD TO HAVE because they matched her North Face winter coat perfectly??

Classic Flower Stripes Baby Bogs Snow Boots

Classic Flower Stripes Baby Bogs Snow Boots

I’m just saying, this is WAY too much fun. No, I decided not to purchase them for her, not this year at least! As for new sandals for me, well, ’tis the season for sandal shopping!

XO ~ Stephanie

2 thoughts on “Bubblegum Scented Toddler Shoes…

  1. Oh my!!! Ok, I need to know where you shop. Other than the ballet slippers (which she is currently growing out of), I don’t love any of Charley’s shoes. I need to know where the fun ones are!!!

  2. Pingback: A New Pair of Shoes = Confidence at EVERY Age…(or is that just my excuse?) | My Brown Baer Cub

Leave a Reply

