‘Twas the Night Before the Twins Delivery…

I am a nervous WRECK! And, I have been through an emergency C-section before with my daughter Mattelyn. (After 14 hours of labor, she went into fetal arrest FOUR TIMES and they had to give me a shot each time to stop my contractions).  But I can’t get over the fact that I will be at the hospital at 6:30am tomorrow morning and holding these twin boys after my surgery. So what does one this pregnant do the day before???? Obviously way too much and I’m up too late as usual. But, the Christmas tree is up, the house is clean and decorated, there are lists everywhere for things I need to remember. I have broken down and cried at least three times today and I have bent over, bent down and tried to pick my daughter up way too many times. The house looks like a whirlwind hit it but it is an organized, necessary staging area right now for it’s two newest members about to arrive.

New car seats to have installed by the Police Department have found their place in the kitchen, along with everything else!

New car seats to have installed by the Police Department have found their place in the kitchen, along with everything else!

Newborn clothes to wash staged on the kitchen table...

Newborn clothes to wash staged on the kitchen table…

Momma's little princess wondering what is going on because Grandma and Momma are being a little crazy right now...

Momma’s little princess wondering what is going on because Grandma and Momma are being a little crazy right now…

Humidifier, infant monitors, pack and plays, all need to be removed from boxes and plugged in.

Humidifier, infant monitors, pack and plays, all need to be removed from boxes and plugged in.

I made 100% organic cotton flannel hypo allergenic receiving blankets from material I ordered.

I made 100% organic cotton flannel hypo allergenic receiving blankets from material I ordered.

I crocheted little beanies for their tiny little heads! (I hope they fit).

I crocheted little beanies for their tiny little heads! (I hope they fit).

My mom and I set up the downstairs spare room for a recovery room for me and a napping changing table room for the babies. I can't be upstairs in my bed for 10 days and my mom is staying with me and the twins in this room and the living room until I can move.

My mom and I set up the downstairs spare room for a recovery room for me and a napping changing table room for the babies. I can’t be upstairs in my bed for 10 days and my mom is staying with me and the twins in this room and the living room until I can move.

12.2.14 Hospital Bags and Christmas Tree-19

We made the dresser full of diapers for newborns, burp rags, diaper cream, newborn outfits, swaddling blankets, bibs and my recovery clothes. My dad hung the room darkening shades that Matt bought on Saturday. 

The twins hospital bag (their diaper bag) and my hospital bag is packed. Took me FOREVER!

The twins hospital bag (their diaper bag) and my hospital bag is packed. Took me FOREVER!

Clementines and Poinsettias for Matt's parents and my dad arriving tomorrow to stay with us until I am home. My life savor mom is planning to stay in the hospital with me while I recover.

Clementines and Poinsettias for Matt’s parents and my dad arriving tomorrow to stay with us until I am home. My life savor mom is planning to stay in the hospital with me while I recover.

This may be overkill, but I wanted to be sure any one of the grandparents or Matt could look at Mattelyn's day and know what she does, what she eats, what we're used to and what dosage she needs for medicine if she needs it, etc., etc. So I typed it up for a reference. Again, likely overkill but I will sleep better (ha, ha) knowing they can look at this and know where they can find what they need for her at any given time.

This may be overkill, but I wanted to be sure any one of the grandparents or Matt could look at Mattelyn’s day and know what she does, what she eats, what we’re used to and what dosage she needs for medicine if she needs it, etc., etc. So I typed it up for a reference. Again, likely overkill but I will sleep better (ha, ha) knowing they can look at this and know where they can find what they need for her at any given time.

Made sure to do a little craft with Mattelyn today and my mom had the cute idea of outlining her little hand. I will keep this forever.

Made sure to do a little craft with Mattelyn today and my mom had the cute idea of outlining her little hand. I will keep this forever.

I packed up all of my maternity clothes!!! Ready to ship away or to donate.

I packed up all of my maternity clothes!!! Ready to ship away or to donate.

Mattelyn's gift for when she comes to see us in the hospital tomorrow morning. We wanted her to know she's special and choo-choo trains are her favorite right now.

Mattelyn’s gift for when she comes to see us in the hospital tomorrow morning. We wanted her to know she’s special and choo-choo trains are her favorite right now.

I went ahead and crocheted her twin baby dolls matching little beanies. Matt's parents bought Mattelyn twin baby dolls of her own and will give them to her tomorrow morning. I am sure it will all make sense when she gets to the hospital.

I went ahead and crocheted her twin baby dolls matching little beanies. Matt’s parents bought Mattelyn twin baby dolls of her own and will give them to her tomorrow morning. I am sure it will all make sense when she gets to the hospital.

We still have no names for these two...the mall lady said she would fill in the names on the ornament if we bring it back. LOL!!!

We still have no names for these two…the mall lady said she would fill in the names on the ornament if we bring it back. LOL!!!

Instead of penning this blog right now, I should be eating my last snack (can't eat or drink anything after midnight tonight) and taking my pre-op shower and washing with the clinical strength Hibiclens soap. Have to take a shower tonight and tomorrow morning.

Instead of penning this blog right now, I should be eating my last snack (can’t eat or drink anything after midnight tonight) and taking my pre-op shower and washing with the clinical strength Hibiclens soap. Have to take a shower tonight and tomorrow morning.

Thank GOD for my mom and ALL of her hard work this week with me making everything the way I want it to be. She is my life saver and has helped me SO MUCH with Mattelyn and preparing the house and getting everything ready. It's crazy the amount of work she has done. I love her so much and I am thankful we get to share this time together although I am positive she wishes we weren't quite so busy!!

Thank GOD for my mom and ALL of her hard work this week with me making everything the way I want it to be. She is my life saver and has helped me SO MUCH with Mattelyn and preparing the house and getting everything ready. It’s crazy the amount of work she has done. I love her so much and I am thankful we get to share this time together although I am positive she wishes we weren’t quite so busy!! 

See Mattelyn's little bity face? Isn't she a doll baby? I am going to miss her so much for four days I'm in the hospital...

See Mattelyn’s little bity face? Isn’t she a doll baby? I am going to miss her so much for four days I’m in the hospital…

The Bears need to win tomorrow for these boys!!!!

The Bears need to win tomorrow for these boys!!!!

Okay, cutting it short tonight. Hard to believe after 37 weeks, tomorrow morning I will go from being 3 to being just one. I think I am as ready as I can ever be. Prayers they are okay and everything goes smoothly. I will be in touch!

As I finish typing this, my amazing mom is in my kitchen baking the last of the homemade pumpkin bars she is famous for with cream cheese icing that we are bringing with us tomorrow morning to give to the labor and delivery nurses and to the recovery and nursery nurses. What an awesome mommy I have. I love her to the moon and back and her love and support for Matt, Mattelyn and me and our little family is endless.

God bless these little boys and their arrival to this world tomorrow morning.

XO ~ Stephanie

One thought on “‘Twas the Night Before the Twins Delivery…

  1. Aaahhhhh!!! It is all so exciting!!! Can’t believe it is almost time! Yay!!!!
    You are more prepared than anyone I’ve ever known! Great job, Miss Planner! Hug your mom an extra couple times from us. She is an amazing mom (hmmm…wonder where you get it from!) and I’m so glad you have her help and support during this time. You’ll do great tomorrow. Thoughts and prayers for you.
    Now snack, shower, and go to sleep! You have a busy day tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

